# Minutes of SPCOM-TC Meeting at SPAWC-2006

Tuesday, 4 July 2006, 12:45 – 14:00

Members attending: 9

Helmut Bölcskei, Javier Garcia-Frias, David Gesbert, Visa Koivunen, Geert Leus, Marc Moonen, Constantinos Papadias, Anna Scaglione, Phil Schniter

Not attending: 21

Ananthram Swami, Nikos Sidiropoulos, Naofal Al-Dhahir, Holger Boche, Pierre Duhamel, Hesham El Gamal, Mounir Ghogho, Robert W. Heath Jr., Franz Hlawatsch, Yingbo Hua, Athanasios Liavas, Zhi-Quan Luo, Jonathan H. Manton, See-May Phoong, Bhaskar Rao, Phillip Regalia, Ali Sayed, Gregori Vazquez, Xiaodong Wang, Zhengyuan Xu, Qing Zhao

## 1. Minutes of ICASSP '06 Meeting

There were no comments on these minutes.

### 2. Conference Board and Technical Directions Committee Meetings at ICASSP'06

In the CB meeting it was announced that for conferences outside the US a second bank account is required. The location of the account should be reported to the IEEE staff office and an IEEE staff member is a signatory on the account. Registrations for such conferences should also be handled in the US. Proceedings and disks should be manufactured in the US to protect IEEE copyrights and they should be IEEE compliant.

These new IEEE guidelines created quite some consternation in our meeting. Dirk Slock gave some feedback on his experience with organizing SPAWC. They had some problems making the CD IEEE compliant. They did not succeed. IEEE says they charge a penalty in this case, but it did not happen. Dirk suggests that it is a good idea to take a Publications Chair from the US in the future.

Anna Scaglione raises the idea that we should create a webpage containing information for future SPAWC organizers. This webpage should contain input from previous organizers. The page could be protected by means of a password.

## 3. SP-COM related Workshops:

- SPAWC-06 Nice: Dirk Slock gave an oral report. Everything seems to run smoothly. They have 180 registrations (not including support).
- SPAWC-07 Helsinki: Visa Koivunen gave an oral report. The invited speakers would be Simon Haykin, Lang Tong, and Holger Boche. The CTO from Nokia will not be able to present. The reservations for the banquet and the hotels are done. The flyers are ready and the website is running. They submitted the budget to the IEEE, and they are waiting for feedback.
- SPAWC-08: Charles Cavalcante and Cristiano Panazio presented their SPAWC-08
  proposal for Recife (Brazil) and distributed a report. Paolo Banelli and Geert Leus
  presented a proposal for Perugia (Italy). The voting will be organized after the SPAWC
  conference.

## 4. IEEE and SP Soc. Awards - Franz + Nikos.

Deadline to submit reviews for BPA and YABPA is June 30. So far reviews are received from Geert, Naofal, Marc, Ali, Athanasios, and Phil Regalia. A few others wrote that they will finish the reviews shortly. For all others, please send the reviews as soon as possible.

No nominations for the IEEE Fink Award came in so we won't be submitting a Fink nomination this year.

Please send nomination for the SPS Education, Service, Society, Technical Achievement Awards. The deadline for forwarding nominations is 1 October 2006. Complete nominations in the standard format.

### 5. Fall Member Elections

7 members will retire and 11 are eligible for re-election.

Submitted by A. Swami, N. Sidiropoulos, and G. Leus