Minutes of SPCOM-TC Meeting at ICASSP-2007

Thursday, 19 April 2007, 12:30 - 14:00

Members attending: 17

Nikos Sidiropoulos, Geert Leus, Qing Zhao, Yingbo Hua, Zhengyuan Xu, Daniel Palomar, Zhengdao Wang, Zhi-Quan Luo, Holger Boche, Pierre Duhamel, Visa Koivunen, Athanasios Liavas, Robert Heath, Ali Sayed, Akbar Sayeed, Tim Davidson, Bhaskar Rao

Not attending: 13

Mats Bengtsson, Phil Schniter, Phillip Regalia, Hamid Sadjadpour, Mounir Ghogho, Franz Hlawatsch, Helmut Bölcskei, David Gesbert, Constantinos Papadias, Anna Scaglione, Xiaodong Wang, Naofal Al-Dhahir, Marc Moonen

1. Introduction of new members:

Mats Bengtsson, Tim Davidson, Daniel Palomar, Hamid Sadjadpour, Akbar Sayeed, Zhengdao Wang

2. Vote of thanks for retiring members:

Heshem El Gamal, Javier Garcia-Frias, Jonathan Manton, See-May Phoong, Ananthram Swami, Gregory Vazquez

3. TC Representation:

- Conference Board representative (Ali Sayed)
- Publications Board representative (Ali Sayed)
- Co-ordination of award nominations (Geert Leus)
- Maintenance pool of Associate Editors for SPCOM (Athanasios Liavas agreed to do this)
- Industrial liaison (Constantinos Papadias)
- Technical directions (Nikos Sidiropoulos)
- Maintenance of SPCOM homepage (Zhengdao Wang)

4. Minutes of ICASSP '06 Meeting

There were no comments on these minutes.

5. Mini TC Review Report to Alex Acero, Technical Directions

This concerns steps to ensure a smooth TC review – notably: complete workshop reports. This is an action item for all General, Technical, Finance Chairs. Everybody that has additional information needs to add this to the document that Nikos has sent to the TC members.

6. SP-COM related Workshops:

- SPAWC-06 Nice: Dirk Slock gave an oral report. Everything seems to be in order. He will send the final report.
- SPAWC-07 Helsinki: Visa Koivunen gave an oral report. There were 4 complaints on the reviews, but these complaints were ungrounded. They already have 120 registrations. Nokia will host attendees after the conference and will donate mobile terminals. There is also a donation from a book publisher.

- SPAWC-08 Recife: Charles Casimiro Cavalcante and Renato Lopes gave an oral report. Everything is ok. The Call for Papers is ready. They booked 300 rooms in the hotel as well as rooms for the posters and lectures. The budget will be ready in May. They will use the EDAS system but have no account there yet. EDAS seems to give good support for the new IEEE rules. The plenaries as well as the social events have not yet been decided. The website will be ready in a few days. The webpage will be www.spawc2008.org.
- SPAWC-09 Perugia: Geert Leus and Paolo Baneli gave an oral report. There were not many new things to mention compared to last time. Only that there will be new low-cost flights to Perugia in the near future.

7. Pool of potential Associate Editors

This is dormant. We need to revitalize this quickly and brainstorm on new potential candidates. Athanasios Liavas agreed to help collect all nominations and initiate a voting procedure.

From A-J v.d. Veen, TSP EiC:

I will need to make some 10 SPCOM appointments this year. Candidates should be mature, > 4 years past PhD, have published in TSP, do reviews for TSP (I'll verify timeliness), have visibility (e.g., citations). I've been asked to appoint more guru's, as opposed to young assistant professors.

The previous list was:

- 1) Gerald Matz
- 2) Xiaoli Ma
- 3) Qing Zhao
- 4) Daniel Palomar

I have appointed all except Xiaoli Ma who was appointed for SPL.

8. IEEE and SP Soc. Awards - Geert + Nikos.

Update on SPCOMTC 2006 nominations:

Society Award Petre Stoica

Best Paper Jorsweick and Boche Young Author Jalden (with Ottersten).

DL Giannakis

All our nominations were successful! - congratulations for the good work.

Deadlines for award nominations:

Geert will coordinate the nominations and the selection process. He will also send the list of papers that made it to the final round in the last few years.

SPS:

BPA, YABPA, SPMag paper award: by Sep. 1 to Mos Kaveh

Aducation, Service, Technical achievement, Society: by Oct. 1 to Mos Kaveh

IEEE:

Fink prize paper, July 1, see http://www.ieee.org/portal/pages/about/awards/sums/fink.html

9. Reflections on ICASSP 2007

papers submitted to SPCOM TC

320
360
408
420

ICASSP07 380 (174 accepted, or \sim 46%) There is a small reduction of submissions across all TCs.

Student paper finalists:

Zijian Tang, Delft University of Technology

with Geert Leus, Delft University of Technology

for the paper titled "<u>RECEIVER DESIGN FOR SINGLE-CARRIER TRANSMISSION OVER TIME-VARYING CHANNELS</u>".

Joakim Jalden, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)

with Luis G. Barbero, *University of Edinburgh*; Björn Ottersten, *Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)*; John S. Thompson, *University of Edinburgh*

for the paper titled "<u>FULL DIVERSITY DETECTION IN MIMO SYSTEMS WITH A FIXED-COMPLEXITY SPHERE DECODER</u>".

Aitor del Coso, CTTC

with Christian Ibars, CTTC

for the paper titled "ACHIEVABLE RATE FOR GAUSSIAN MULTIPLE RELAY CHANNELS WITH LINEAR RELAYING FUNCTIONS".

Johannes Maurer, Vienna University of Technology

with Gerald Matz, Vienna University of Technology; Dominik Seethaler, Vienna University of Technology

for the paper titled "LOW-COMPLEXITY AND FULL-DIVERSITY MIMO DETECTION BASED ON CONDITION NUMBER THRESHOLDING".

Michael Botros Shenouda, McMaster University

with Timothy N. Davidson, McMaster University

for the paper titled "A FRAMEWORK FOR DESIGNING MIMO SYSTEMS WITH DECISION FEEDBACK EQUALIZATION OR TOMLINSON-HARASHIMA PRECODING".

Fengzhong Qu, University of Florida

with Liuqing Yang, *University of Florida*; Ananthram Swami, *Army Research Laboratory* for the paper titled "<u>BATTERY POWER EFFICIENCY OF PPM AND OOK IN WIRELESS SENSOR NETWORKS"</u>.

Antonio Garcia Marques, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos with Xin Wang, University of Minnesota; Georgios B. Giannakis, University of Minnesota for the paper titled "MINIMIZING TRANSMIT-POWER FOR COHERENT COMMUNICATIONS IN WIRELESS SENSOR NETWORKS USING QUANTIZED CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION".

10. Cooperation with SAM-TC and name change

The attendees thought that this might be a good idea but some reservations were raised. One step could be to form two joint sessions on a topic of overlapping interest after the separate TC review processes are complete for ICASSP2008. The two chairs should discuss this in due time. This will be communicated to the SAM-TC.

Nikos made a motion for TC name change to Signal Processing for Communications and Networking. Nikos elaborated on the rationale behind the motion: there is growing interest in the community the TC serves (also reflected in the current interests of many TC members) in SP for networking. Our TC handles the related areas for ICASSP, and SPCOM reviewers and associate editors handle the corresponding EDICS for TSP and SPL. Pierre Duhamel seconded this proposal. Everybody agreed on further discussing and voting for this through e-mail.

11. Upcoming TC Meetings:

Face-to-face: SPAWC-07 (17-20 June 2007, Helsinki)

Submitted by N. Sidiropoulos and G. Leus